‘You like Tomato . . .  I like Tomhato’

Yo,

I haven’t posted a recipe in a long time and I figured your’e a hungry bunch your probably chomping at the bit for your next foodie Installment?! Am I right?! 

If yes, continue reading, as this is right up your street. If it’s a no then I don’t know what to tell you mate, you’re the one that clicked on the link 😂. 

All jokes aside, I’m really grateful that you lovely lot take time out of your busy days and give my humble blog a read and a huge thank you to those who shower the likes and shares. Big respect! 

Sorry I’m digressing . . A problem of mine that I’m SURE many of you are aware of. Today’s blog is dedicated to my spin on the good old fashioned Tomato soup. A childhood favorite of mine, my go to when I’m feeling a little bit under the weather, freezing cold or just damn hungry . . which lets be honest is 99% of the time! 

In my younger years, Mother Holland swore that ‘Heinz Cream of Tomato’ soup was the remedy for a cold and I would without doubt have it every time I was unwell. It’s still to this day one of my favourite meals and brings back a lovely sense of nostalgia, memories of curling up next to the fire with my ‘Beatrix Potter ‘ duvet getting doted on whilst watching ‘Nickelodeon’ on repeat. 

Ahhh to be a child again . . . 

As I grew older I realised that although ‘Heinz’ soup is scrumptious it actually has an obscene amount of sugar in and it’s remedy was probably down to a raging sugar rush!!! It has its place though and I still enjoy it from time to time.

A couple of years ago I decided to get my ‘Nigella’ on and throw myself into a spot of soup making. I didn’t want just an ordinary soup, I wanted to treat it as more as a gourmet meal rather than a ‘healthy substitute’ for that delicious baguette your co worker enjoys every lunch time in an effort to tease your tastebuds and test your will power 😉. 

This soup has a little bit of extra pizazz, dressed with pesto and creme fraiche and accompanied with a slice of sour dough (or some protein for my paleo pals) or alternatively as a side to your co workers baguette if your having a ‘Hangry’ day. 

Enjoy it for lunch or dinner and don’t worry folks it’s ‘Totes’ healthy you don’t have to run a marathon to burn this off, easily digested and full of nutrients. Although a Barre class is always a good idea 😉. 

Method behind the magic:

Serves 2 (generously):

6 vine riped tomatoes 

1 can plum tomatoes

1 red onion 

2 garlic cloves (use one if you have garlic fear) 

1 tbsp olive oil 

1 tbsp tomato purée 

1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce 

1 tbsp green pesto 

1 chicken (or veg) stock cube (pint)

Pinch of brown sugar (as desired)

Salt, pepper, chilli flakes (as desired) 

Creme fraiche and extra pesto to dress 

Choose a decent sized pan and roughly chop onion and garlic and brown in olive oil. Then add your halved tomatoes and rest of your ingredients. Simmer for 30 minutes and allow to cool, then blend either with a handheld blitzer or in a food processor. 

Do your best ‘Jamie Oliver’ impression (optional) whilst swirling your creme fraiche and pesto on top of your soup, toast your bread or prep your protein and then kick back and enjoy.

YOU are welcome 😉

Comments and feedback greatly appreciated gang. 

Happy eating.

MisMaxine 

XOXO 

Leave a Reply

