How do you like your eggs in the morning?

…with a kiss?! Don’t we all!! 😉

Me again!

If you read one of my previous blogs on ‘My weird yet wonderful discovery’ you’ll know I like to push the boat out and do crazy shi…znae in the kitchen.  It’s mainly a mixture of never making enough time for planned food shops, forgetting key ingredients ALL the time and never really knowing what I will fancy, so in the Holland/Rea kitchen anything goes – and we use EVERYTHING!

So, the more I write, the more I realise I am gravitating toward a food/nutrition influenced blog; maybe cos I’m a self confessed FOODIE and love anything to do with eating and nourishing my body… and the feedback I get from you lovely bunch is that you’re all there with me, food obsessed. Awesome news!

So, I’m gonna keep spamming social media with my little concoctions, in the hope that it inspires you to try new things in the kitchen. We all know we can get into a comfortable rut with our eating, scoffing the same thing, day in day out, because it’s easy or you know the nutritional value of it.  But it’s not necessarily good for your body; to obtain the nutrients and other substances needed for good health you must must MUST vary your meals, switch it up a bit peeps!

Hence in this blog, and many more to come, I’m gonna give you options, so you can keep your meals fresh – and clean of course 😉

So here goes, with ANOTHER breakfast option. It’s the most important meal of the day and the one we vary least, so time to switch it up and try these healthy PANCAKES.

Did she just say… pancakes…?!

You’re freaking right I did! :-0 And let me tell you now, they are oh-so-good! They are flourless so don’t freak out my Paleo buddies, the only carbohydrate you get is from the banana which is slow release and perfect at the start of your day. Want to hear what’s in them?!

Serves 1 (quite generously may I add)

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 medium banana
  • Dash of almond milk (unsweetened)
  • Tbsp Chia seeds
  • Coconut oil to fry
  • Tiny bit of stevia or manuka honey (if that sweet tooth just won’t quit, and no, contrary to popular belief, I am not quite sweet enough 😉 )

Now for the method:

Crack the eggs into a bowl, whisk and add dash of almond milk and chia seeds and honey or stevia

Cut ½ banana, add it to the bowl

Put all of the above into a food processor/smoothie-maker/blender, so it’s smooth and runny

Heat coconut oil in pan and pour in a ladle full, fry like a pancake or flip like an omelette, whatever works for you, or whatever works on the day. My pancake/omelette making is often determined by sheer luck!

The mixture should allow you to make 2/3 pancakes, depending on what size you want them, it really is up to you. And hey, even if you get a bit of a scrambled omelette/pancake, it still tastes awesome so don’t worry. We won’t tell. Hence no picture … mine this morning wasn’t perfect looking but I still could NOT wait to eat it :-0 oink oink!!

Magic behind the method:

  • Eggs – excellent source of protein, burn fat, fuel your workouts and keep your mind sharp and your tummy full till lunch.
  • Banana – slow release energy and oh so sweet and a great source of potassium/magnesium.
  • Almond milk – dairy free and adds a slight nutty taste.
  • Chia seeds – source of fibre and protein.
  • Honey or stevia – adds that extra sweetness that we all love.

I had mine this morning and it fuelled my teaching and workout schedule AND satisfied my sweet and savoury teeth. Success!! Also… it feels a bit naughty having pancakes for brekkie, and we all love a naughty treat.

Add whatever you want to your pancakes. Yoghurt, berries, a healthy sweetener…. avocado, if you’re feeling adventurous… ummm… did I just take it too far?! Ok so, scrap the avo and maybe stick with adding the other ½ of the banana. Better?! Phewf.

There you have it guys, a flourless, nutritious pancake for you to try out.  If you have nut allergies, you can take out the almond milk, recipe works fine and dandy without or substitute with another dairy free alternative.

Please let me know how you get on, tag me with pictures or comments about your creations or just catch me after/before class. We love your feedback at The Barre and more importantly we just love having a good old chat 😉

See you guys in class, keep up the hard work, you’re awesome and YOU inspire us!

Mismaxine

xoxo

One thought on “How do you like your eggs in the morning?

  1. yum! i tried a similar recipe before and let me just say, bananas and eggs together, are PERFECT. tried so many pancake recipes and they all arent as good as simple banana and egg… love it! gonna try this version! 😉 im a fitness blogger on here too! xx

Leave a Reply

