I Hate Running – Again!!

So after my first week back at The Barre in 10 months I decided week 7 was time for another first, a run. I’ve never been much of a long distance runner, in fact at school I always found myself behind ‘The Smokers’ in cross country, but over the past couple of years I’ve managed to get myself to a position where I could do a steady 3-4 miles a few times a week at a good pace. I started off with the Couch to 5k app, building up slowly, however I now honestly believe 3-4 miles is just a mind set, anyone can do it. Yes, yes, I can hear you shouting at your electronic device ‘not me, I can’t run!’, well you’re wrong.

For the last week I have felt dread at the prospect of pounding the pavements but then I had a word with myself, ‘Bellface’ I said, ‘you have a choice, you can get out there and get on with it and just maybe start wearing some normal clothes or you can stay in and eat cake and wear maternity dungarees forever’, hmmm, thats actually a tough one! Anyway, off I went, trainers on, Nike Running app on the go and spent the next 25 minutes telling myself ‘slow and steady wins the race’. It wasn’t fun, my lungs felt like they were going to explode, if i stopped to cross a road my legs began to seize but you know what? It worked!! Slow and steady does win the race, yeah I was slow, yeah I only ran 2 miles but I did it, all the way around the route with NO STOPPING!!!

The following week was the race for life, my mother in law had kindly signed me up, it was 5k (3ish miles) and again I used the same trick, whenever I thought I wanted to walk I just kept reminding myself to take it slow and guess what… yup I made it through, all the way, no stopping or walking (I think perhaps I’m still in shock myself).

Am I enjoying running again? Hell no! Not yet at least, but now I know my trick to get me through when I just don’t think I can do that last mile or the last set of Plies, I think of the tortoise and the hare, if  that fails I take Vixters advice and ‘think Nike ad’.

Dx

Leave a Reply

